educratsweb logo

The Eight names of Lord Shiva

The Eight names of Lord Shiva

Atmalingam: It was worshipped by Mother Parvati in Kailash Parvat. Lord Shiva has been referred by this name in ShivaPuran.

Maheshwar Lingam: As the Jyotirlingam was established by Lord Vishnu, its name, Maheshwar, is related with the name of Lord Vishnu.

Kamad Lingam: In hindi, Kamad means desire. Lord Vishnu had worshipped Lord Shiva for fulfillment of his desires and hence the name Kamad Lingam attributed to Lord Shiva.

Ravaneshwar Lingam: Lord Shiva got this name as the daemon King Ravana was his great devotee.

Baidyanath Lingam: The Baidya (physician) of Gods. Lord Shiva has also been admired as a curer of diseases. Hence he became known as Baidyanath (The head of physicians).

Margalingam: The hindi word Marga means Shining. The illustration of Chandrakanta Mani on top of the Baba Baidyanath temple, gave him this name.

Tatpurus: The hindi word Tatpurus means almighty. As Lord Shiva may fulfill all types of wishes, he is almighty. In this way he is known by this name.

Bamdev or Baijunath: The devoted cowherd Baiju appeased Shiva by his worship and as per his wish the Lord kept his name.

The Eight names of Lord Shiva
Contents shared By

Aaj Savere - An interview with Sadguru Jaggi Vasudev, Spiritual Leader
Published on Monday June 1 2020
if you have any information regarding Job, Study Material or any other information related to career. you can Post your article on our website. Click here to Register & Share your contents.
For Advertisment or any query email us at

2 10 Mysterious Things About Ram Setu
4 Temples and Holy places in and around Babadham
5 Deoghar Baba Baidyanath Dham - Shrawan Mela
6 Uttar Ramayan - Episode 1 to 49
7 The Eight names of Lord Shiva
8 दशहरा एवं दुर्गा पूजा की शुभकामना संदेश भेजे । अपने दोस्तो को शुभकामनाएँ संदेश अपने नाम के साथ भेजे @educratsweb #educratsweb
9 ... नवरात्रि की नौ देवियां: जानेें इनका स्वरूप,पूजा विधि,मंत्र,भोग व मिलने वाला आशीर्वाद
10 51 शक्तिपीठ के बारे में जाने | Know more about 51 shakti peeth in Hindi
11 नवरात्रि की नौ देवियां: जानेें इनका स्वरूप,पूजा विधि,मंत्र,भोग व मिलने वाला आशीर्वाद
We would love to hear your thoughts, concerns or problems with anything so we can improve our website ! visit and submit your valuable feedback.
Save this page as PDF | Recommend to your Friends

http://educratsweb(dot)com educratsweb